What took me so long

I’ve been meaning to do this for a long time.  Every time I visit a client.  Every time I discover something interesting in the API.  Every time I hear news about BDB.

You see, for years, I’ve been working with folks to improve their Berkeley DB experience.  To make their system go faster.  To handle more data.  Sometimes just to understand.  And with each interaction, I understand a little more, too.  I’ve found that similar themes come up again and again.  Cache isn’t big enough.  Let’s partition the data set.  How about we find some locality in your access patterns.  These are things I could blog about.

Many of these clients have given me hard problems, and I’ve learned a lot from that.  In this blog, we’re going to try to discover, dissect, and distill some of these lessons.  With your remarks and feedback, I’m hoping we’ll learn a little bit more.  Together.

DB_ENV->open…

About ddanderson

Berkeley DB, Java, C, C , C# consultant and jazz trumpeter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

